Meeting Ibn Battuta

Hello, my name is Aabish. I am a slave of Ibn Battuta. My journey begins in Cairo, Egypt where I was first sold to a man. I was then sent to Sijilmasa to meet my owner. Upon arrival, I was judged by strength and finesse and assigned a job. I was an irrigation slave. My job is to get water for my master. I tie a large bucket attached to ropes around my body and draw up fresh water from springs. Some of my friends I met on the ship sailing us from Cairo to Sijilmasa were assigned much better, easier jobs in my mind. My friend Fadila, sent to a different master but in the same place, courted the sultan and eventually became his wife and birth giver. However, my master Ibn Battuta does not believe in that  type of thing. He does not like slave women to have any association with high status or be related to the Sultan. My first day here was hard and laborious but I can always enjoy my sleep. Here is a picture of me after a long day.

Leave a comment