Left in Mecca-1332

Today was a long, hard day for me. Ibn Battuta and I, freshly married, took a pilgrimage together. Little did I know it would be my last experience with him. I married him for a better life, not because I loved him. We had just come from Egypt, Syria, and Asia minor. He had used me for my benefits and taken off. Ibn Battuta tricked me into going into the marketplace to buy, when really I was the one being sold. Right back into slavery. This is a picture of me on a boat with my new crewmates. We try to stay optimistic but the unknown of our new life drags us down. We heard rumors of sugar plantations in Italy, but who could be sure. All I can see around me are just big, masses of blue ocean. I am tired and growing weary of this life.

2 thoughts on “Left in Mecca-1332

  1. I am a scribe from Baghdad who travelled to Cordoba and had similar experiences with travels. The travels make you very tired. You have a very sad story and I wish you the best.

    Like

  2. I am a muslin woman from Songhai and I cannot beleive Ibn Batutta did this! I heard he was an honorable man from my husband who had traveled with him. This is so terrible. Stay strong! It’s hard to be a woman in these times, but have faith in people. Allah is always with you.

    Like

Leave a comment